Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen or pencil. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays a lot of people frequently do not write by hand using a pen, pencil, and brush for several reasons. This method increased the reliance on digital technology and declining handwriting. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for the decrease in the use of handwriting.

To begin with, the major reason for declining writing by hand is extensive of digital devices such as smartphones, laptops, tablets, and computers. All the tools have provided more convenience and faster of communication than handwriting. For example, people can talk through various apps like WhatsApp, Instagram, or Twitter instead of writing a letter. Furthermore, writing on digital devices provide positive development like protecting the environment and benefit for students. This is due to the fact that writing without papers may protect the environment. We need to save trees being cut down. Moreover, if you are a student, most of the time you spend taking notes. That is why that students can easily take notes if they using typing.

On the other hand, it has negative sides for older people. This is due to the fact that older persons cannot use social media perfectly. Considering it will be difficult for them to write using any gadgets. In addition, some people find it awkward to read others’ handwriting. Handwriting is more illegible and slow than typing on the digital devices. Therefore, it may take a lot of time and cause problems, which is why more people prefer writing on their phones and devices.

To sum up, the decline in writing by hand has both positive and negative sides. More people make to use of typing to easily read and send their letters. Also, it may save our time and nature. However, this may be inconvenient for some older people, but I think they will learn it.