For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

Art has been pertinent across all periods of history, from the bronze age, renaissance, down to the 20th century. These days, however, the masses’ opinion towards art has changed, favoring disciplines and occupations related to science, technology, and business.

In my opinion, there are several catalysts for this. Firstly, individuals are inclined more to the aforementioned disciplines because they are regarded as practical in today’s world. Since the prices of food, houses, and general necessities have inflated due to economic reasons, it is rational for a recently-graduated senior high school student, for instance, to take an IT degree in university, as the degree opens well-paying careers after graduation. Secondly, not only these disciplines are considered as practical by many, but they also came along with the rise of technology in 21st century. As individuals from several generations happen to grow up with modern technology such as TVs, laptops, and phones, they chance to develop a preference for them, and thus valuing technology over anything else. While it is not necessarily bad to regard technology high, arts should be given equal respect.

To direct society’s attention towards it, governments should give their citizens more incentives to pursue arts. Governments, for example, could employ programs that would educate and train people about arts. They could also provide monthly financial assistance for those pursuing the craft, especially artists and musicians.

In summary, the reason individuals value science, technology, and business more nowadays because it is practical and they happen to live in a world where technology started blooming. For people to be directed towards arts, governments all around the globe should provide funds to those engaged in the discipline, and create programs that will educate the many about it.