For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill should be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

With the progress of technology advancement, computers have become an essential part in our daily lives. It is believed that computer skills should be considered as a main subject in education curriculums beside linguistic and mathematical skills, which I fully agree with.

Since the dependence on technological devices is increasing, it is necessary to have computer skills, especially for the young who are about to enter the work market. To commence with, most of our work has been converted to digital, which results in a huge requirement for technically qualified workers in the labor market. For example, nowadays, business employees are required to have fundamental computer skills such as using software, analyzing data to conduct their work. Moreover, in the technological advancement era, computer-related occupations are also at a high demand level. Thus, people with computer skills have more opportunities to be employed.

Beside the merits in employment, computer skills also have positive impacts on education. Students are able to access educational sources to improve their other skills. For instance, during the COVID pandemic, online courses are available for children that are unable to continue their study without interruption. Additionally, students can practice and obtain knowledge more efficiently with computer skills. Take coding skills for example, this skill may enhance their mathematics and logical thinking.

In conclusion, due to the development of technology, I personally think that educators should mandate computer skills to become official subjects in schools along with other essential ones.