For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill should be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

With the advance of technology and the growth rate that it has shown, it comes as no surprise that computer knowledge inhabits a prominent role in modern society. I believe that computers have changed the way students partake in their education.

First of all, the valuable information that computers provide students with helps them achieve the knowledge that they require much easier compared to the era when computers were not invented. Huge amounts of time had to be invested in research for the students to acquire the knowledge they needed for their research and work. Now all of that is just a click away compared to the past when they had to search extensively for the materials they needed in books.

Secondly, computers have given a new shape to the workplace. Before the invention of computers, the conventional way of work for most people was a nine to five job but nowadays, people get to work independently or from the comfort of their homes because of the existence of computers. In the case of Covid-19, when people had to stay indoors for long periods of time to stay safe from the unknown disease, with the existence of computers and freelancers who already worked from home the way for working remotely was paved. Even though online learning was already established by companies such as Coursera and Skillshare, the importance and application of it came to light when the lockdown was put in place and online learning became an essential part of students’ and teachers’ lives.

In conclusion, computers have become an unwavering part of our education system and society as a whole. Its benefits are far too great to be dismissed as a fourth skill and with the progress that they show, it could very much be introduced as such in the near future.