Freshwater is a limited resource in certain regions of the world. Today, the escalating demand has transformed it into a global problem. What are the causes of increasing demand? What measures can governments and individuals take to respond to the problem?

Freshwater, which is vital for the survival of humans and other flora and fauna, has always been a scarce natural resource on our planet, and this has been more acute in dried parts of the world. Due to rapid population growth and industrialization, the scarcity of this valuable resource has become a global issue. In this essay, I shall outline the main factors that have contributed to this problem and then elicit certain steps that can be taken to address this problem.

One of the primary reasons for the increased demand for freshwater is population growth. As more people inhabit the planet, the demand for water increases correspondingly. Moreover, economic growth and industrialization have led to an increased demand for water in many parts of the world. Agricultural activities and the production of electricity also require a vast amount of water. For instance, some research revealed that the generation of electricity could be the main cause of water shortage in some countries, and demand for this industry is rising due to their necessity for humans.

The government and individuals must take appropriate measures to address this problem. One of the most critical steps is the conservation of freshwater. The Government can promote water conservation by implementing laws that regulate water usage, such as restrictions on water-intensive industries. Similarly, ordinary people can also contribute to this noble cause by limiting their daily household water usage and recycling the wastewater to grow plants.

To conclude, freshwater is a limited resource without which we cannot survive. This is why both authorities and individuals should take every measure to save the already inadequate resource to ensure that we have access to this vital resource for generations to come.