Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. Do you Agree or Disagree?

Although online friendships have undergone an unprecedented growth in the contemporary context thanks to the advent of the Internet, many remain doubtful about these kinds of relationships, considering them insignificant as opposed to in-person interaction. Taking both rationales into consideration, I personally align myself with the latter view, implying that face-to-face contact is also in equal measure.

On the one hand, virtual friendships carry a myriad of benefits from which both individuals and the society as a whole may derive. One of the primary advantages of online contact is its broadening of the social network. The first justification lies in the fact that it ensures one’s connection with many people from diverse backgrounds and cultures, irrespective of the physical and geographical limitations. On a larger scale, such a friendship also facilitates convenience and flexibility. Technological advances have rendered remote interaction more accessible, denoting that various social media platforms and many modes of communication can be obtained with some simple mouse clicks. However, verifying one’s authenticity on such platforms is deemed troublesome, which potentially gives rise to a plethora of negative phenomena ranging from cyberbullying, harassment to many forms of scamming.

Apart from the aforementioned grounds, the upsides of online friendships pale in comparison with their offline counterparts, which foster a deeper sense of connection and emotional bonds. This stems from the fact that direct relationships are inextricably linked to physical presence, which necessitates a stronger sense of belonging. Moreover, the involvement of verbal and non-verbal communication within these sorts of interaction facilitates better communication and diminishes misinterpretations, thereby constituting greater trust and accountability.

In conclusion, while online friendships offer a multitude of benefits ranging from global connectivity to flexibility, their in-person equivalents are also of paramount importance. Personally, I vehemently concur with the notion that digital-based relationships are significantly overshadowed by the depths and reliability of physical interactions.