Full-time students should spend a lot of time on studies, but they should be involved in other activities too. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary milieu, students are becoming busier than ever. Some people assert that in lieu of focusing only on study, they should participate in other extra activities. I strongly agree with this school of thought on account of its benefits in students’ work and knowledge.

On the one hand, concentrating solely on studying enables students to reach their highest productivity in their academic performances. To commence with, taking part in part-time jobs or extracurricular activities can distract them from their studies. These activities seem more interesting than their fixed studies due to rewards given for them such as money, certificates and social connections. As a result, students’ academic performances will be affected negatively if they spend less time on this task or even miss classes because of these activities. Moreover, schools tend to promote team orientation by encouraging collective efforts. If students devote their time in peripheral activities, they would barely have time to work in their groups, resulting in project failure.

However, I still think full-time students should engage in other activities in addition to study. As a student, they are becoming young professionals, by working part-time jobs or participating in career workshops means preparation for the workplace. These jobs also provide them financial independence from their family, which not only lessens parents’ financial burden but also helps them pay for basic demand such as shopping or traveling. Furthermore, taking part in extracurricular activities fosters students’ understanding of what events occur in society. For instance, the bulk of schools have clubs established by students including debate clubs which allow them to discuss both international and domestic socio-political issues, thereby broadening their horizons.

In conclusion, although focusing only on study can help students gain higher academic outcome, I strongly believe that participating in extracurricular activities brings more advantages for students’ future career and knowledge.