Gender equality has not been achieved in our society. Women still do not have the same rights and opportunities as men. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Numerous advancements have been achieved in gender equality over the last decades, with some countries having already achieved equality between men and women. However, some people believe that women do not have the same rights and opportunities than men in modern society. I completely agree with this perspective because the widespread ideology of chauvinism considers that women should not work and study and should stay at home with their families.

Chauvinism considers that women should not work and study; consequently, they are not given the same opportunities to develop in society. Educational institutions are influenced by chauvinistic views because they do not encourage gender equality in all subjects and fields of study. Sociological research globally shows that a low percentage of women get involved in science, engeneering or politics in comparison with men. For instance, in some European countries where gender equality has significantly developed, such as Switzerland, men still outnumbered women in politics.

Moreover, while chauvinism discourages women from developing professionally, this ideology prefers that women stay at home to take care of their families. Women who obey this social mandate are highly valued by chauvinistic men in many countries, making women resignate their professional desires. Statistics studies have shown that very few women get jobs with high positions in management or work as scientists globally. There is a high percentage of women who quit their studies and dedicate their life to take care of their families due to discouragement in career development.

In conclusion, chauvinism considers that the right place for women is to stay at home and do not encourage them to work. Despite many advancements in gender equality, many educational institutions are influenced by chauvinistic views and do not promote equality enough. Governments should implement a social system with equal opportunities for all genders, leading to a society in which everyone has the same rights and opportunities to develop as citizens.