Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

No doubt that genome editing became a debatable matter latterly, which is attributed to its tremendous implications to organic life on the planet. An outlook has the perception of its dangers, whereas the other one sees its beneficial potentials. The following disquisition delves into both standpoints, puts forward an insight into my perspective, and subsequently elaborates why I emphatically believe that the benefits of genetic engineering outweigh the drawbacks.

Concerned advocates gave an advance warning about the drastic plague of genetic manipulation. They have introduced numerous arguments, and the prime one is deriving from the fear of another arms race. To illustrate, nations might use genetic modification to devise the super soldier, besides the super bugs and microbes, which could lead to the annihilation of the current life, as we know it. Moreover, there is the hypothesis that wealthy societies would use it, in order to enhance their offspring’s capabilities, consequently, poor communities would sustain in poverty, owing to the lack of advanced prowesses that should guarantee better jobs. Likewise, affluent countries will keep their overwhelming advantage over developing countries for centuries to come. Thenceforth, Huxley’s novel titled “Brave New World”, should become a reality, as citizens are environmentally engineered into an intelligent-based social hierarchy, under the rule of scientific dictatorships.

On the other hand, there is a consensus, even among reluctant that genetic editing has indubitably, salient impacts on every aspect of life on earth, initially with humans, thereafter plants and animals. First and foremost, it should further enhance people’s health, due to its medical applications, since it promises to cure to terminal illnesses, for instance, Cancer, Ulcerative Colitis and HIV virus. Additionally, it can eradicate hunger, by making flora more resilient to weather conditions, insects, in addition to diseases. Furthermore, it can save animals from extinction, inasmuch as cloning them, together with finding cures for their illnesses.

To conclude, genome modification is a major advancement that has vehement consequences, nonetheless, I believe the behemoth impacts outweigh its presumed adverse complications.