Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

There is ongoing debate amongst people about whether genetic engineering benefits humans’ lifestyles or puts lifeforms in danger. I believe, interfering to work of nature changes society and human evolution completely, as well as affecting agriculture, although it enhances the quality of life in terms of medicine.

Genetic engineering could contribute some advantages. Firstly, it boosts medical treatment, because drugs and vaccines are usually created by applying to genetic editing. For example, recent invention, the vaccine of Sputnik against Covid-19, was enabled because of it. Furthermore, genetic engineering could make possible to clone human organs, resulting in people might have replacement body parts. While this advancement in medicine may contribute to having longer and healthier way of life, it is prohibited in most countries because of fear of religion and negative outcomes of projects.

Modifying genes, especially in humans, brings up significant drawbacks. To be more specific, genetic manipulation allows to parents to choose traits of their unborn offsprings. While this might seem beneficial, it challenges the natural diversity of individuals. For example, DNA altered people become specialized in exact fields, lacking difference between robots and human beings. Moreover, genetic modification is also being used in agronomy. Although, it is being utilized in order to cultivate plants in the huge quantity, it can reduce the quality of the greenery and make them more vulnerable to pests, threatening food security. For example, genetically modified crops like “Bt corn” are engineered to resist certain pests, but over time, pests can develop resistance to the modified genes, potentially leading to a reduction in crop yields and an increased reliance on pesticides.

In conclusion, whilst GM offers some positive contribution in medical field, the negative aspects of it outweigh with its affects on humans and environment.