Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

It is undeniable that genetic engineering is an important research area in societies all over the world. While I accept that using this technology is dangerous and hazardous for our lives, I believe that genetic engineering can enhance our lives quality.

On the one hand, genetic engineering disadvantages that people argue are mostly in two important areas: food production and cloning of humans. Firstly, most of people are concerned about food production which is manufactured using genetic engineering. They think that the consumption of genetically modified food products may have negative effects on future generations, especially on students’ growth. Secondly, people are concerned about the cloning of humans. Humans that are created using genetic engineering technology are probably so dangerous for our future lives, for they cause bad relationships among people and also war between countries.

On the other hand, the positive effects of genetic engineering cause the usages of this technology increase all around the world. Firstly, scientists believe that by using this technology treatment for many diseases is possible which was not possible before in common scientific ways. Secondly, genetic engineering in agricultural activities causes crops will be more resistant against a large number of insects and diseases. Finally, doctors can predict the health condition of the fetus in the future when the mother is pregnant; therefore, in the future, the existence of stronger and more intelligent types of humans will be evident in human societies all around the world.

In conclusion, genetic engineering can improve the quality of human life. While I accept the disadvantages of this technology, I believe that the advantages of genetic engineering outweigh the drawbacks.