Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

Genetic engineering is a laboratory technique which is used to change the genetic makeup of an organism by changing a single base pair in DNA structure of an organism. By following this technology, some people believe that it can enhance our live’s while other feels that it can be devastating. This essay will show both advantages and disadvantages with examples and then my suggestion on it.

Firstly, cutting a defective basepair in the genome of an organism and then inserting a new one is a remarkable event in the science history. It can help to protect the genetic diseases in individuals by simply removing a single base that causes the spread of that disease from generation to generation. It can also used to develop disease-resistant crops and enhansing nutritional value in foods.

On the other hand, this treatment to the genome of an organism has poved to be dangerous to the environment. Modifying genetic makeup can cause unforeseen concequences to the society and cause potential disruption of an ecosystems by the emergence of new pests. Introducing new genes in crops can cause allergic reactions in organisms and also effects the flavor of genetically modified crops. It can also lead to loss in genetic diversity.

In my opinion, the advantages of genetic engineering are greater than that of its disadvantages. It has produced genetically modified organisms that are used for the production of valuable compounds. Genetically modified medicines are used that can lead to more effective treatment. It can also used to reduce food shortage in certian regions. Hence, it has the potential for positive impacts on mankind.