Genetic engineering offers great potential for improving human health, but it also raises ethical concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of genetic engineering

In an ever-changing world, genetic engineering has revolutionized science and technology, enabling scientists to modify the genetic makeup of organisms including humans. While its potential benefits in improving human health are immense, ethical concerns surrounding its applications cannot be overlooked. This essay will examine both advantages and disadvantages of this development.

Genetic engineering offers great potential for treating genetic diseases and extending human lifespan. By modifying defective genes before birth, gene editing can eliminate genetically carried disorders and disabilities, such as thalassemia and muscular dystrophy. As a result, future generations are less likely to suffer from these long-term genetic diseases. They can lead healthier and more independent lives, without relying on life long medical equipment, and the financial burden on healthcare systems will be eased too. Advanced genetic tools can also increase life expectancy by intervening and altering age-related gene defects. This might offer the prospect of humans living twice as long without loss of memory or frailty. Consequently, the elderly will be able to overcome age-related limitations, giving them more time to achieve their goals or spend more time with their offspring.

Nevertheless, genetic manipulation is also ethically controversial when it raises concerns about the sanctity of human life and inequality. To refine genomic editing techniques, experimentations are crucial, and they require selection of healthy embryos or fetuses. These selections may result in abortion and embryo destruction, which is objectionable to some people. This may undermine the natural value of childbirth, as scientific achievements are prioritized over the birth of a naturally conceived child. More broadly, genomic editing can widen the gap between social classes. Since the use of genetic engineering is going to be expensive, especially when it is first introduced, only affluent parents will be able to afford to enhance their children and give them biological advantages. This, combined with the stretching wealth gap, may lead to a society divided between the genetically privileged and those who lack genetic enhancement. Furthermore, this inequality can lead to a modern form of eugenics, in which certain genetic traits are preferred over others, and people who are unable to afford these advanced tools may have to face discrimination or social pressure to meet the biologically standardized beauty.

In conclusion, while genetic engineering provides great benefits in improving health and life quality, a robust regulatory framework is necessary to prevent the unethical use of gene editing.