Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. • Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. • Why is this? • What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy? Write at least 250 words.

Solar energy came significantly in the trend in many parts of the world because of the development in semiconductor industries. The advancements in solar panels efficiency due to research in the field. Also, mass production is now possible which leads to affordability There are several benefits like environmental benefits and reduction in electricity cost, while it also has some drawbacks like high installation expense and weather dependency.

There are two main benefits to the source of household energy. Primarily, the cost of electricity has reduced because of the advancements in mass manufacturing techniques. People are aware of the government subsidies which can help you financially. Also, the awareness of understanding the return of investment and future benefits by gaining the cheap or free electricity motivates people to invest in sustainable energies like it. Secondarily, the green energy benefits the planet to sustain as it will help to reduce the pollution. For example, every new project of Indian household includes the plan of setup of the solar panels which leads to sustainability.

On the other hand, various drawbacks may be noted. In first place, to install tee solar panel, it requires an aluminium structure which might make the investment cost higher and also requires open space where sunlight is available. Generally, it is hard to find open space in the conjested city like Mumbai as there are majorly high rise buildings in there. It is not possible to get a setup for everyone in limited space. Another drawback is the weather dependency of solar panels. The photovoltaic cell inside the solar panel converts the energy of the sunrays into the electricity. The rate of electricity is depended on the intensity of the sunrays. So in the overcast cloudy situations it might fail to produce the enough amount of energy.

In conclusion, solar panel has become cheaper way to generate the electricity and also had become affordable. On the other hand, the installation of panels needs space which might be a concern in overpopulated areas and its weather dependency can affect the overall production of electricity.