Global environmental issues are the responsibility of richer nations, not poorer ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that environmental problems are more relevant for the wealthy countries than for indigent ones. In my view, there is no justification for blaming solely rich nations and neglect all others. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument. Today, every country faces environmental issues and it is an obligation for both nations to protect the environment because people share the same planet, although nations with more ability to fix the problem should do more.

To begin with, nations that are well developed have more environmental issues such as air pollution, water pollution, global warming and some others too. All of these happened because of using a great amount of fossil fuels, like oil, coal or gas which also lead to deforestation and the extinction of numerous plant and animal species. Rich nations use these resources to invest in innovative technologies and industrialization. According to a recent article, there is an example of melting glaciers in Greenland. Thawing of the polar ice caps caused by global warming and it gives us concern about climate change. However, these countries should be the first to provide funding for environmental protection because they have more income to end these problems through different ways than poor ones.

On the other hand, there are poor nations that also contribute to environmental improvement, though often at a smaller scale. As we know, they don’t have many resources and their manufacturing activities are still developing. Moreover, indigent countries have troubles with things such as water supply, food, healthcare which also lead to environmental issues. For instance, in Africa, millions of people do not have access to water due to lack of water resources and drought. Despite these problems, they still can and have to boost environmental situation like developed nations as well through technology development and participation in international environmental initiatives.

In conclusion, for both nations, environmental issues are equally related because it is a global responsibility that affects all nations and therefore all of them can contribute to solving this problem. And at the same time, richer nations will promote more because of the amount of their resources.