Global warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment. What causes global warming? What solutions are there to this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In this day and age, global warming is a phenomenon in which the earth’s average temperature increase years by years due to plenty of reasons from human’s activities. There are a lot of causes and solutions to this problem, which will be discussed now.

There are many culprits why climate change is causing damage to humans and their surroundings. First and foremost, deforestation is responsible for the increasing temperature of the earth. To be more specific, because of population growth, people all over the world are cutting down trees and clearing forests to create areas for cultivating and building more accommodation, leading to the lack of vegetation to absorb carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and raise the temperature of our planet. Consuming fossil fuels is another reason why green house effect is occurring. To put it in detail, non-renewable sources of energy such as oil, coal and gas are being used to operate cars, power stations and factories, which emit a huge amount of green house gases, elevating the overall heat of our planet. The more frequent household use of power such as computers, TV and lights is, the worse global warming is due to intensive operation of burning fossil fuels from power stations.

On the other hand, there would be a numerously effective measures to this problem. At the forefront of all, alternative sources of energy should be employed to reduce dependence on fossil fuels . For example, solar or wind energy should be exploited from limitless reserve in the sun and nature to operate cars, or to create energy instead of coal in oil in power plants. Secondly, the governments should tighten the permits allowing a lot of companies to log down acres of forests for unnecessary commercial purposes. For instance, clearing out areas of forests to make space for golf courses should be banned because this activity only benefit a small number of people from top social elites. Last but not least, travelling by public transport may be an optimal solution to deal with global warming. Using buses or underground systems will reduce the amount of carbon emissions compared to private vehicles such as motorbikes or personal cars.

In conclusion, global warming originates from logging, burning fuels for transportation, industry and household use while the governments can employ renewable energy, tighten the legislations and encourage the use of public transport for a solution to this conundrum.