Globalization has led to a significant increase in the homogenization of cultures worldwide. What are the potential problems associated with this cultural uniformity, and what measures can be taken to preserve cultural diversity?v

Globalization has connected societies closer than ever before, providing a sense of unity, but it has also contributed to the diminishing of cultural differences especially as of late. The growing uniformity of global culture threatens local customs and traditions around the globe. This essay will examine the problems that follow this cultural homogenization and suggest a solution to preserve cultural diversity.

A major drawback associated with cultures and nations being so interconnected is the gradual loss of a distinct cultural identity and heritage. As Western media rises indefinitely in prominence, global trends starting with simple commodities – clothes, food, consumer brands- follow. This results in distinct national features fading into monotony, to the point where it becomes increasingly difficult to tell nations apart from one another due to the significant uniformity global culture brings. For instance, Mongolian traditional calligraphy is fading in mainstream media, specifically in street signs, as well as in the importance locals associate with learning and implementing the linguistic heritage into their day-to-day lives. It is more common to see names of establishments and book titles in English than in traditional Mongolian writings. Moreover, traditional clothing is a rare sight to see out on the streets as individuals opt for modern, trendy pieces in their choice of wardrobe. If this continues without interventions, future generations could inherit a nation that is washed up from all its former glory, potentially resulting in the complete diminishing of national identity.

To counter the effects of cultural homogenization resulting from mainstream media, both Governments and individuals must contribute to protecting cultural heritage by taking active steps and effective action. Most importantly, Governments can implement policies to preserve inherited language as well as art forms that are unique to the specific nation by funding cultural preservation programs and national festivals. Furthermore, schools should strive to implement cultural awareness, exposing children to their heritage. This can be done in numerous ways, such as organizing ‘wear your cultural costume’ days and increasing the time spent studying traditional literature. Another great approach would be to encourage its exposure in mainstream media, such as replacing foreign programs with historical and traditional campaigns on TV and social media news, which would gradually encourage individuals to prioritize cultural identity without completely abandoning universal customs. Through collective efforts and participation, cultural diversity can thrive alongside globalization.