Government investment in sports is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent you agree/disagree.

The government has spent it’s revenue in many fields, sports being one among them. While other people support the government’s investment in sports, few consider it as a misuse of money and therefore require it to be used for public services instead. In my opinion, I think sports requires government’s support for it’s proliferation.

Investments in sports promotes international recognition. Supporting the national teams and allowing them to have trainings and tournaments sharpens their skills and prepares them to face the outside world. In Tanzania, for instance, the swimming facilities and trainers offered to youth in schools has given rise to prominent swimmers, allowing three them to engage in international tournaments like the Paris swimming Olympics in 2024.

However, investments in sports is likely to hinder improvement in public services. It is a shame to see citizens lamenting on the public services while sports is getting the upper hand. For instance, some people in the rural areas in Tanzania complain on the poor health services in most of government offices, most pregnant women die before reaching the hospital due to absence of tarmac roads and insufficient public transport. If the government was to take into consideration the challenges faced by her citizens instead of focusing on sports, there would be great development in the nation.

To conclude, Investing in sports is important especially for the young generation. It gives them time to interact and build on their skills. In addition, it offers them a platform to showcase their talent at international level. The government should allocate funds for sports events and public services to make sure that everyone enjoys their privileges at the right sector and time.