Government investment in sports is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is often argued by many that it is a waste of the public resources to invest in sports and rather putting the available money in public service is of more significance. This essay partially agrees with the statement as I believe there must be a balance in budgeting for both sports and public service. Money allocated for sports goes into improving the sporting facilities and hence boosting the sportsmen and women’s morale in producing their best. As well, investment in public service ensures improved services in major public sectors.

When the government invests money in the public service, the key sectors like health, education and security are well established and empowered to offer quality services to the general public. This is very important in every budget in a given country as the government is always keen in providing topnotch service to its citizens which generally leads to better quality of livelihoods. For instance, when the government prioritizes to fund the healthcare sector, most people will have easy access to hospitals and qualified health professionals, leading to satisfactory services.

On the other hand, sports is equally important to a county’s heritage and when a government allocates sufficient money to the sporting sector, modern sporting facilities will be built and world class coaching will be contacted. This investment normally motivates the sportspersons in performing better in their local and international competitions hence the pride if a county is elevated. For example, when athletes in Kenya were given new colorful jerseys by the government for their championship in the recent Olympics, they were greatly motivated and they won many medals.

In summary, whereas a government should apportion more revenue to fund public service to offer quality sevices, I partially agree that some of the money should be invested in the sports sector to improve the sporting facilities.