Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, the government invests money not only in public services but also in arts such as music and theatre. In my opinion, the government should primarily focus on investing in public services.

It is important that the government spends a significant amount of money on public services. Hospitals, roads, and education (schools and universities) are more important as they determine the quality of life. For example, the UK has recently reduced their public spending, which resulted in increased hospital waiting times and a drop in the number of teachers hired in schools and universities. This may lead to a decline in the development of healthcare and education sectors and further adverse effects on the economy of the country. This demonstrates the importance of public services for people as it is the only way to maintain standards and accessibility for everyone.

However, it does not mean that the arts sector must be completely neglected. Firstly, it is difficult for art institutions to charge high entrance fees for theatres and musical shows, which leads to a decrease in the number of people attending such events. Thus, without the help of the government, these institutions may close down. Secondly, it affects the quality of life in terms of entertainment as people find great pleasure in their interests such as in music, movies, and live-performance shows. Also, it is through arts where culture is alive among generations. For example, traditional music and dance convey the stories of our ancestors and their culture.

To conclude, although majority of the government investment must be prioritized for public services, spending in the arts sector is not a waste and should continue. Therefore, a balance is required to ensure that public services are maintained while the arts remain available to all.