Government needs to spend money to encourage the development of sport and art for school students, rather than to support professional sports and art events. Do you agree or disagree?

Currently, there is a growing concern related to the allocation of government funding. People argue that government should prioritize their budgeting plan to develop sport and art for school students rather spending it on the professional sport and art events. I personally agree with this view for several reasons.

To begin with, the long term impact of promoting sport and art for the school’s students is more profound. Exposing children to sport and art since early age might help them to develop sportsmanship personality to be more prepared and able to perform professionally when they reach certain age to compete in the professional stage. Additionally, School’s sport and art programs can be functioned as talent pools filled with trained and talented young athletes and artisans which can be promoted to compete in any competition.

Another reason is the development of sport and program at school might help the holistic development of children which will be beneficial to develop their personality when they reach adult age. It is a fact that people cannot rely solely on their intelligence. Therefore, in order to success in life, children need to be nurtured to develop not only their cognitive skills, but their psychological and physical skills as well. To illustrate, when a sport game, such as soccer is introduced to young lads, it will help the children to recognize the philosophical values of collaboration, endurance, perseverance, and resilience. They will learn that to achieve a “goal”, individuals should pose a strong mentality that help them to “bounce-back” no matter how many times they fall, and they can rely on their team mate. Furthermore, they will also learn to obey the rule that any wrongdoing will be punished.