Government needs to spend money to encourage the development of sport and art for school students, rather than to support professional sports and art events. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that it is requisite for rightful authorities of a nation to pour their financial resources into promoting the improvement of fields regarding sports and arts for school children rather than investing in professional events in the same fields. In my opinion, I strongly concur with this statement and further examinations will be included in the following paper.

For a variety of reasons, it would be essential for governments to expand spending for school students by promoting a positive and healthy lifestyle for students and empowering them to engage in more physical activities and creative mindset. Specifically, governments can organize some practical events involving subjects about sports and arts. To be more particular, these events should be about playing soccer or badminton for sport and painting or acting in terms of arts. Therefore, this could provide a sense of motivation where they can showcase their talent as well as opportunities to compete with their peers. Another clear statement is that art and sport activities can help to steer children away from sedentary lifestyles. Thanks to having exposure to sporty activities at schools, there would be a reduction in the risk of being overweight and having eye-related illnesses. The consequence is to contribute to an improvement in public health and boost the studying efficiencies thanks to a better health condition.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, it would bring a huge benefit for not only the government but also individuals in terms of economy. Hosting big international competitions such as Sea Games or the Olympics, for instance, could probably attract spectators from different countries around the world. As a result, this could raise the host’s revenue from the tourism industry of the host country including accommodations, food, and beverages. In addition, the government’s concentration on professional sports and arts events may help to contribute to an overall development of public health. Particularly, when stadiums and sport centers serving sport activities and competitions receive financial support from the governments, the facilities of these places would be frequently reinforced and upgraded. This would encourage local people to participate in sport activities more regularly, thereby enhancing their physical health conditions.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that while supporting sports and art events can have significant economic and public health benefits, I believe that investing in sports and arts in schools should be a priority for the government.