Government should ban dangerous sports, others think they have the freedom to choose. Discuss both views and give your comments.

One school of thought holds that it is necessary for the government to ban risky sports activities, others argue that individuals have the right of freedom. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives of this tendency before concluding that I am in favor of the latter notion.

On the one hand, banning dangerous sports could be advantageous to some extent. Firstly, risky sports may adversely impact players’ well-being. Activities such as car-climbing or paragliding involve a high probability of accidents which can strain the healthcare system and family emotionally and financially. Secondly, this propensity is prone to prevent the younger generation from mimicking. This could be reinforced by the fact that some individuals fascinated by car-racing might replicate risky behaviours on roads, surpassing speed limits, and causing accidents, which lead them fatal wounds, head injuries or event life-threatening perils.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that players should have the autonomy. One rationale is that defining what constitutes dangerous sports activities may be vague. As every sport may have a different level of risk, including swimming, football, or even walking. Therefore, imposing an outright ban on dangerous activites may be unfair and autocratic, which makes citizens unpleasant and has an unacceptable quality of life. Another justification is that it is matter of liberties. Banning residents from chasing their hobbies is unreasonable, especially those who have fully acknowledged about the threats that come with it. In some cases, for those who are adrenaline junkies are prone to have a sense of fullfilment and satisfaction when playing extreme sports. Preventing them from sports, such as skydiving or bungee may take away their source of happiness.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that not allowing dangerous sports is prone to ensure players’ health-related issues and prevent youngsters from emulating, I would contend that this tendency is still vague due to lack of definition and impedes individuals autonomy.