Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The twenty first century is the mark of continuous scientific research and development. From the advent of smart mobile phones, watches or gadgets to space exploration are all the results of un-restricted research and development. This is the untiring efforts of scientists that make the lives of the middleman more comfortable than a monarch of the eighteenth century. This is all achieved from the freedom and encouragement of exploration in the field of science. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that the restriction, however few, may be imposed on scientific innovation and advancement.

This is the science that makes our life easy; all the knowledge is just a click away – it leads to the introduction of information management – food productivity increases, life expectancy is enhanced, the miracles in medical sciences are a daily phenomenon with the advent of different kinds of transplantations.

Additionally, any development is considered harmful or useful, only, on account of its usage, for instance, the invention of gunpowder made the life of miners easy, although, the same powder was the reason for millions of deaths during world wars. The addition of mobile phones in our lives has changed our lifestyle. We stop memorizing the contact numbers; we don’t need to remember the schedule; the entertainment is available in hand; various apps make us fit by establishing the habits of exercise. On the contrary, excessive usage becomes an addiction that is more lethal than any drug.

I believe that if advancement is required to be restricted, even though few, then who will decide what to restrict? Besides, history witnessed the pre-renaissance period where all the advents were discouraged, they only allowed the prevailing beliefs, as true. The metamorphosis of the theory of the earth being flat to round consumed many souls, as per some believers. The church discouraged all the new theories in the name of religion in Europe. Therefore, selective restriction would again lead to catastrophe.

In conclusion, it is not the development or research that need to be restricted, but the spirit of usage of that discovery.