Government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens' health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that the government should invest the money in the healthcare system for citizens instead of environmental protection. In my own perspective, I think it is better to balance both.

On the one hand, a country’s budget should be mainly allocated for healthcare for the betterment of residents’ life. For instance, the government can spend money to construct and upgrade hospitals. They can purchase new cutting-edge healthcare tools and machinery, as of that, many treatments will be much simpler and shorter. Moreover, funds can be used for medical staff training which benefits both the patients and the doctors themselves.

However, nature is essential as well. Protecting the environment is like protecting us as it is the home of many living things, including humans. Preserving and valuing our nature can also protect citizens’ health as trees play a vital role in providing a fresh atmosphere and reducing the carbon footprint. Furthermore,

Planting more forests can help humans fight global warming. On the same page, the government can gain profits through selling logs and producing wooden gadgets. In fact, some nations’ economies relied heavily on it.

In short, two figures are equally important, neglecting one or another can result in bad consequences. By that, I think it’s a must for every country to develop both.