Government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, medical research is a subject which piques many people’s interest. Meanwhile, others believe that this is a frivolous idea, and that environmental presentation is of more consequence. My view is that I partly advocate the statement for the reasons why governments should do is not only focus on medical but also related to the world’s environmental issue

On the one hand, it is undeniable that funding medical research is worthwhile. First, this can provide an affordable and modern healthcare system. Indeed, a higher budget allows researchers to discover effective curative techniques leading to a low-cost and better protection for citizens. Moreover, millions of lives could be saved due to the discovery of effective treatments for sudden diseases or incurable ones. For example, during the Covid-19 epidemic, countries around the world joined hands to find the vaccine in the fastest way and gained the benefits of vaccine a year later, thus they are able to provide the vaccine to every corner of the world = enabling them to provide the vaccine to every country on the planet.

On the other hand, the financial budget spent on hindering environmental pollution is crucial. To begin with, it is obvious that a poor living habitat negatively impacts local residents’ well-being. For instance, according to numerous scientific studies, those living in regions where the air quality is low seem to face a higher threat from respiratory diseases, including tuberculosis, cough or lung cancer. Additionally, climate change also leads to severe weather, water pollution entails health issues, and many diseases can appear through lack of natural protection.

In conclusion, while the allocation of more budget towards medical research yields immediate benefits, it is crucial not to undermine the importance of environmental protection. Striking a balance between funding, medical research and nature preservation is essential for ensuring the well-being of future generations and maintaining the environment.