Government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether the government should focus more on medicine or on preserving the environment to protect residents. I completely agree with the view that spending more money on medical research is more important than protecting the environment. However, this does not mean that the latter one is unnecessary to keep citizens’ save.

On the one hand, the financial budget spend on protecting the environment is crucial. This is because neglecting environmental protection can lead to disasters like floods, and droughts, which strain healthcare systems and economies. Additionally, a clean environment is essential for preventing diseases caused by poor air quality, such as cough, and even lung cancer. Therefore, I believe that the government should not ignore this field to protect population’s health.

On the other hand, there are a few reasons why I think spending more money on healthcare research is more essential to improve residents’ well-being than other factors. Firstly, increased funding for medical research can lead to the discovery of cures and treatments for life-threatening diseases such as cancer, diabetes, and heart conditions. Due to technological advancement, almost every disease can be cured these days, preventing illnesses and extending life expectancy. Secondly, the benefits of medical research are often tangible and immediate, addressing urgent health crises like pandemics. For example, during COVID-19, most people perished because of lack of modern technologies in some countries.

In conclusion, I agree the government should spend money on protecting the environment to avoid diseases. However, I believe they should focus more on medical research to save efficiently people’s life.