Government spends much money for education. More money should be spent on free-time activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that since education is financially prioritized by authorities, they should allocate more money to spare time activities. I completely disagree with this notion based on the reasons that are elucidated in this essay.

It is understandable why policymakers allot a colossal amount of money to education. It is hard to overstate the importance of schooling, as it decides what kind of person individuals become, what kind of career people will have, and what kind of life citizens will lead. Therefore, funding and subsidizing education, in other words, is key to the economic progress of a nation, because it facilitates a country to have a more educated workforce and also ward off social issues like crime and unemployment. This can be manifested in the underdeveloped and developing countries. For example, in Vietnam, education is placed heavy emphasis on over other areas such as healthcare and entertainment. This enormous expenditure on education is helping this country to become one of the most wealthy countries in Asia.

From the aforementioned benefit of spending much money on education, I contend that authorities should not allocate more money to free time activities. This is predicated on the assumption that people in this day and age have enough means of entertainment such as playing video games on their mobile phones, surfing the Internet, or simply going out to the entertainment areas. Allotting more resources to spare time activities may be redundant and not necessary, and this investment can be spent on other fundamental services that cater to the masses. This allows them to have cheap access to water and electricity, resulting in enhancing the living standards of citizens.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that policymakers should allot money to education, and free time activities should not be financially spent on by them.