Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that countries should allocate more funds to education than to leisure and sports games. In my opinion, while education is undeniably crucial for personal and national development, I strongly disagree with the view that it should be prioritized over sports and play. First, I would discuss the physical and mental benefits that sports and leisure can bring and secondly, its social benefits.

We cannot deny the fact that an excellent education system is fundamental for students’ success as well as the country’s economic development. However, the benefits of sports and physical activities are equally significant, as they equally contribute to personal well-being and professional success, as the proverb goes: ” no health, no wealth”. Additionally, sports and play promote the production of dopamine, which actually boosts a person’s creativity and productivity. Take a giant technology company like Google as an example. If you go around their office campus, it’s not difficult to find playgrounds and sports areas where their staff can spend time enjoying physical activities while working.

Sports and leisure are not just about improving a person’s physical and mental health, they also provide countless social benefits. A person who is well-aware of their health will definitely stay away from social evils such as drugs, alcohol and unsafe sexual health. Building a society where people value their health will absolutely bring down a lot of social issues and improve the people’s happiness level. Moreover, participating in team sports fosters a sense of community and teamwork, which are essential skills in both personal and professional life. That’s the reason why the number of sports events around the world in general and marathon races in particular has increased significantly in recent years. Having said that, we cannot skip the importance of education when it comes to improving social matters, because a well-educated person will be more knowledgeable than anyone else in terms of what is beneficial for their health and what should be avoided to protect their well-being.

While some may argue that prioritizing sports could detract from educational resources, the holistic benefits of sports and leisure activities justify equal investment.