Having more money and less free time is better than earning less money and having more free time. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Nowadays, the world is in constant battle between capital and time. Many believe that being wealthy but lacking enough leisure time is way better than being poor with lots of free time, while some argue against it. I personally think, in comparison, earning enough money, even though you may not have time for yourself, is slightly better. This essay explains these views in detail in further paragraphs.

On the one hand, everything in today’s world runs on money, as it has become an integral part of our lives and is a means of survival and happiness for every individual. The basic requirements of all human beings, ranging from medical facilities and education to transportation and access to technology, all require monetary factors, which are only afforded by someone with enough money. Moreover, having access to all these basic features results in satisfaction and joyfulness, with a mere lack of free time for yourself and other people near you; however, from a practical mindset, working long hours and being able to fulfill these requirements for oneself and one’s loved ones is much more important, in my point of view.

On the other hand, many creatively minded people argue that money is something that comes and goes, but time is constant and keeps moving forward but never comes back, so it is more valuable. Moreover, to be able to be comfortable with your finances is commendable, but if people cannot conjure up a small amount of time for themselves or their close ones, then what is the meaning of having all that money. Furthermore, a certain spare time period is required not just for pleasure, but for one’s mental well-being as well, which correlates with good health, with which wealth cannot compete.

In conclusion, money is a significant factor in our lives, along with idle time; nevertheless, in today’s world, humankind must choose one or the other. Looking at the grand scheme of things, wealth does seem more important, as one can afford several things through it, while free time does come with its merits, but funds are required for minimal necessities and most of the activities one desires.