Health experts say that walking is a good way to improve the health of the general public but nowadays are walking less than ever before. What are the causes? What measures could be effective?

Undoubtedly, people all over the world are walking less than they used to do in the past, even if it is known that this practice is an easy way to improve people’s health.

On the whole, nowadays human habits changed compared to the past: people work for most of the day, being overstressed, exhausted and always in the dumps. Because of this (OR THEREFORE), free time is reduced, hobbies and sports are not a priority and people became lazier day by day. moreover, the development of technology and the large-scale diffusion of technological devices, occurred in the last decades, caused the decrease of people interest in stimulating activities like reading, playing instruments and practising outdoors sport.

Without any doubt, this phenomenon is more evident between the youngest, whose interactions are most of the time online, through social networks or video games.

This unhealthy lifestyle can be absolutely modified, through increasing people interest in various activities, included the most outdated. To my mind, starting from childrens education can be a good option, such as planning school trips in naturalistic sites or organising monthly matches of different sports. In the same way, adults could be attracted by programs of incentives launched by the government, for example family subscription to naturalistic park. Additionally, group walking can be organised by associations of the field, thinking about different age people and family available options.

all things considered, the improvement of our lifestyles toward an healthier direction should be reached, in order to increase our mental and physical care; changing our everyday routine could starting point.