If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars very heavily and use the money to provide free or very cheap rail travel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In parallel with urbanization, global traffic has become more and more problematic, which needs urgent implementation. That private cars are heavily taxed is a recommendation for this issue. Albeit the controversy on this suggestion, I hold my conviction that taxing private vehicles and supporting the price of public transport plays a crucial role in enhancing traffic facilities because of the following reasons.

On the one hand, the opponents may assert that cars are an indispensable means of transport. If cars are put a heavy tax on, the commuters will struggle with their daily traveling. Moreover, cars that offer them much more convenient and comfortable shelters than public transport like buses or trains are their preference. Private vehicles are far more time-saving in the context of commuting a long distance.

However, despite the remaining individual merits, private cars exert a much more detrimental effect on traffic. Private vehicles are the core reason for the traffic congestion. The increasingly populated cities result in the large number of vehicles used in the streets on a daily basis, creating seriously continual congestion, especially in peak hours. For instance, Vietnamese streets are usually stuck with the quantity of cars and motorbikes and the commuters may waste hours traveling in a short distance. Instead, commuting by public transport will not only alleviate the traffic jams but also ensure the quality of the air in the urban areas. Moreover, public transportation such as buses or high-speed railways is the key to reducing the time catching the destination. Hence, the high taxation of private cars and offering a free-of-charge or inexpensive price for public means of transport will ameliorate the current traffic condition.

In conclusion, I concur that imposing an extra tax on private cars and lessening the cost for public ones will address the contemporary traffic problems concerning the reasons mentioned above. It is an urgent action that the government should take to tackle the remaining issue.