If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether younger family members should have legal responsibilities to care for older relatives who are not able to look after themselves has triggered debate. While some people assert that these legal responsibilities are compulsory, therefore: younger individuals should follow them.I deem that imposing legal responsibilities on younger family members is not an ideal approach.

Admittedly, young people taking care of their older relatives not only strengthens their family bonds but also reduces the burden on public health and social care system.Legal responsibilities can reinforce the moral duty of family members to care for each other, fostering a sense of solidarity and mutual support among family members.Indeed, this legal framework can ensure that elderly individuals are not neglected or left to face hardships alone, promoting a culture of care and compassion as well as improving family ties.For example,in India, laws mandate siblings to support their parents,so it is common to see multigenerational households living together to provide mutual care and support.

However I believe it can be disadvantageous and even counterproductive to force younger people to take care of their older relatives. Imposing legal obligations on family members to care for their elders can infringe on personal freedom.Indeed,every individual should have rights to decide how they want to allocate their time and resources. Forcing people to care for elderly relatives can lead to resentment and a lack of genuine care, which could have adverse impacts on both the caregiver and the elderly. Furthermore, not everyone is in a suitable position to provide adequate care, especially younger members facing their own financial, physical, or mental health challenges can not have the resources to care for aging members. For instance, young people struggling with debt or health issues may have difficulty in providing genuine care for others.

In conclusion, although young people taking legal responsibilities for looking after the elderly can have significant merits, I opine that this decision should be made willingly to satisfy both the caregiver and older people.