If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that if the old are no longer able to take care of themselves about health problems or financial burden, their descendants should take the legal responsibility of aiding them. Even though there are some advantages to both of them, I am in favor of this view.

Admittedly, letting the young be legally responsible for helping their grandparents can pose certain disadvantages. One of them is more financial stress for the young. This is because, doing so requires them to make more money to afford their own and their older family members’ living cost and the market competitiveness is increasing continuously, thus always working with financially worrisome thoughts. Another of them is that the old might think that they bother the young because of taking care of them, which easily leads to mental health problems. Consequently, the former people might be self-conscious and want to leave the earth sooner or avoiding their family members, so their bonds gradually become weaker.

However, I believe this practice can offer more significant advantages relating to a inherent feature and motivation to work. Regarding the former, being responsible for supporting their grandparents or parents is as a moral feature in society for several decades, this means people are paying for what they received in the past and represent their gratitude for their nurturers. If they do not follow or have opposite behavior, when those parents passed away, they can feel guilty and regret in the rest of their lives. Beyond that, having someone to care also boost motivation for working. As a results, people will try their best to work hard, which enhances the whole social productivity, leading to economic growth.

In conclusion, even though taking legal responsibility for those who cannot physically, mentally or financially manage their lives may indeed bring certain problems, the benefits in terms of individuals and society are more impactful and meaningful. Based on the aforementioned arguments, I completely agree with the proposed idea.