If the product is good and meets consumer needs than advertising is unnecessary. To what extend do you agree?

In the business market, product is not only about meeting consumer needs or how good is it. You can’t really say the product is good without showing it and letting the costumers try the product and give feedbacks on wether it’s good or bad. Good usually refers to quality and quality cannot be shown unless people actually try it. Additionally, You should consider many other aspects of the market to successfully sell the product in the market.

Advertising is the main part of your product when your introducing it into the market, especially when you’re a startup business. People don’t know anything about your business or your product itself, including the quality. To be able to sell your products, you should promote your brand and products on social media, ads or websites to gain popularity and let everyone know this new product. Moreover, the market may be very competitive, I could ensure that your competitors would advertise their products and it would be really difficult to sell your product if it nobody knows about your product.

Costumers tend to buy products that have are seen as a brand that always sell good quality products with good customer service before or after sale. Brands usually get popular by branding their products and advertising it on every platform that they can. Brands that are not that popular, costumers usually assume it’s an very bad quality product and usually don’t buy it when they have alternative options.

In my opinion, advertising is one of the main parts of a product to be sold successfully on the market. However, if you only focus on advertising and leave the other significant parts of the product development. You will still fail. You need to also focus on increasing quality of product or including a Unique selling point(USP) to the product to be able to have an competitive advantage. Lastly, if your product has bad quality and you advertise heavily as a good quality product, this may damage your brand reputation very badly. So you need to balance it.