International sporting events are often promoted as a way to foster global unity and understanding. However, some argue that they primarily serve as platforms for nationalistic rivalries and commercial exploitation. To what extent do you think international sporting events contribute to or detract from global harmony?

The Olympic games are one of the greatest sport’s event in the world. Virtyally, this tournament ensures that we will see there the all best athletes. Moreover, the winners often symbolize themself power of countries, wheare are come from.

Of course, many people beliefs that such international tournaments help people with different political attitudes to understand each other better. They reminds a history, how many thousands years ago the competitions in Greece could able to stop the wars. Instead, these assertions looks naivy, virtyally, it involves many people in the descussion about better life for all people. According to the media, tourists from Ucraine and Russia were doing it regularly during the Games in Paris in 2024. They were talking about their political contradictions and try to break the ice between two nations. It’s the true people diplomacy.

However, many analitics and even ordinary people critisize the giant international forums. For example, experts many times pointed on the flags on the competitions and political confrontations between sportsmens from different nations. Indeed, curiously enough, it solery dwindles to nationalism. More than eighty years ago the USSR and the Socialist Camp ignored the Games for that reason. Nevertheless, in 1980 The Soviet Union used it for demonstration their economic and political power. In current time, the big sport forums often attach to business projects as sponsors, beside the point for healthy lifestyle: cigarettes Marlboro, vodka Absolute, Coca-Cola and etc.

In my opinion, today, in the midst of the decay, the people diplomacy at such tournaments searches to maintain the peace or, more precisely, temporary unites. It’s a very progressive idea, despite the drawbacks.