IIt is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that punishment is an effective method to teach children discipline. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons.

I partly agree that it is punishments are necessary in some cases to teach children on the difference between right and wrong. One of the main reasons is that youngster need to endure punishments and take responsibility for their actions in order to develop deterrence through retribution. Punishments can be effective in rapidly stopping unacceptable behaviors. It is necessary to teach children on the limits and boundaries to their action and when they cross the limits, punishments should be reinforced to prevent kids from crossing those limits again.

On the other hand, positive reinforcement such as praising the child or rewarding them and allowing them to face natural consequences instead of physical punishment can be a more beneficial and safe alternative to teaching disciplines. Physical punishments are not tolerable as it trigger harmful psychological responses. Not only does it cause pain, fear and, anxiety to the child, it also put the kid at risk of experiencing a mental burden, threatening their future pathways. For instance, hitting a child although it can create fear, and stop them from wrongdoings, it can further establish negative social outcomes, lowering their self-esteem.

In conclusion, although punishments can be effective in several cases, positive reinforcement such as complimenting a child can result in a better future for the child. I’m convinced that parents should let their kids experience natural consequences and learn through their mistakes.