IIt is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the significant development of our society in every aspect, distinguishing between right and wrong as soon as possible is essential for children. Some people believe that using punishment during teaching kids might help them follow this distinction. In my opinion, I partly disagree with this statement for a number of reasons.

To begin, one of the most important reasons for my belief is that punishment might lead to the learning process of children going against the expected result. It is generally believed that should adults be too strict, always look for punishment to punish children, they will tend to do the opposite. The reason for these situations might be that they are still in process of development or can be understood that they are in “the age of rebellion”; therefore, they tend to do things which they are interested in.

In addition, another reason why I do not support the use of punishment on children is that it might be a type of pressure on kids. In fact, children in the modern era are under a wide range of pressures such as peer pressure. Thus, helping children to distinguish the true or the false through using punishment might cause them not only physical hurts but also mental problems.

On the other hand, there are lots of methods which parents and educators can help their children become good citizens or have good behavior. One of the most beneficial solutions is encouraging and accompanying them. Talking to child about the assignment, performance they are working on and focusing on their process rather than the end result not only does it help children work more effectively but also does not increase the gap between generations.

In conclusion, it is my opinion that we should not use punishment during teaching and helping our kids to learn due to the disadvantages that it brings. Beside it can make the teaching results contrary to what we want, it will also be yet another invisible pressure that children have to endure.