IIt is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the early years of their life, children build their perception of right and wrong. To promote this, it is vital to provide them with firm guidelines. This essay will examine why proper punishment is necessary to help them learn and which type of punishment is most effective in doing so.

Despite the negative connotation of the word, the term “punishment” comes from the Latin “punire”, which means “to instruct”. This could not be more appropriate, since children are in a stage of character development in which they do not have the tools to discern right from wrong yet. However, to begin to understand the difference, they require some instruction, and punishment provides just that. For example, if a child hurts another kid while playing, punishment coming from a teacher or a parent allows them to understand that the action is not only wrong by itself, but also that it has consequences. Moreover, the association of punishment with wrongdoing allows to highlight the opposite scenario: a child that is punished for dangerously crossing the street will appreciate the absence of punishment when crossing carefully. This further increments the learning curve during cognitive development.

One way to effectively punish a child would most certainly be to temporarily take away from them something they care about. It could be as easy as withdrawing their favourite toy or preventing them from going to a birthday party. This triggers a response in the reward system of the brain, that records the correlation between wrong actions and unpleasant sensations. Another effective strategy of punishment would be to let children experience the direct consequences of their actions. However, the application of this concept is limited to safe environments, where kids cannot get hurt. For example, imagine a playground, where there is a small slide, falling from which wouldn’t be dangerous, but still scary for a child. A warning on the slide shows how to safely use it, but when the child does not follow the instructions, this results in a fall. The slide represents the danger of not obeying the rules of caution, and there is no best way for kids to learn than to experience the direct effect of their wrong choice.

Overall, it is pivotal for the cognitive development of children to experience punishment. It allows them to build their own conscience, which will permit them to distinguish right from wrong in the future. Parents and caregivers should never neglect that punishment is an important instrument of growth, that provides children with the ability to navigate the adult world.