Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a problem in developing countries. However, it is becoming apparent that in some developed countries, the illiteracy rate is on the rise. Discuss possible causes for increasing illiteracy rates in developed countries. What effect it may have on society in such countrie

It is believed that illiterates are predominantly found in the third- world nations, but there is a paradigm shift of this trend to developed countries., why these phenomenon could be attributed to socioeconomic status in these nations, one of the potential effects is high crime rate.

Regarding the causes of illiteracy In the advanced countries, one major factor is wretchedness. Before, this used to be a common problem in the underdeveloped nations, but this trend is shifting to well-developed countries as well. A significant number of people cannot afford the exorbitant cost of tuition, thus casting shadows on the ability to read and write. Evidence abounds that many individuals in the USA, Canada, and Australia are uneducated because of their low economic profiles. Hence, these and many more are the reasons why the number of illiterate is declining in this countries.

Turning to the consequences of lack of education in the first-world countries, it can cause results in criminal activities. Education is a means of livelihood as it increases the chances of securing a well-paid job for the populace, not having access to it can have a drastic effect on the masses. This may cause an individual to seek for a means of survival through engaging in armed robbery, pickpocketing, and other ungodly activities. In the UK, one of the most developed nations in the world, the rate of crime surged when their indigenes could not afford tuition fees. Therefore, the effect of illiteracy in a developed region is immeasurable.

In conclusion, although poverty is a major causative factor of a decline in the number learned individuals in the advanced nations, the effect of this include but not limited to escalating number of antisocial populace.