Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a problem in developing countries. However, it is becoming apparent that in some developed countries, the illiteracy rate is on the rise. Discuss possible causes for increasing illiteracy rates in developed countries. What effect it may have on society in such countrie

People tend to believe that illiteracy is typical only for the Third-World countries, however, it is evident that the rates of individuals who can’t read and write is currently increasing even in the developed states. There are many reasons that could lead to such statistics, namely, underfunding the schools, poverty, and digital distractions.

Firstly, one significant factor that contributes to diminishing literacy figure is that government isn’t financing educational establishments properly, hence, schools may lack resources. This issue can lead to overcrowded classrooms and outdated materials, which in turn, creates malignant environment for kids to study. Additionally, with insufficient funding, schools can’t hire enough highly-qualified teachers, which is a significant obstacle in terms of education, because students’ success is half dependent on the teacher. It can cause excessive use of various gadgets, which will occupy all free time of children and demotivates them to learn even more.

Secondly, the main trouble of all countries has always been and will remain poverty, as plenty of families cannot afford to send their children to school because they have no way to pay for tuition. Furthermore, parents simply can’t spend time with their children doing their homework due to the insane amount of work and lack of supervision leads to horrible academic achievement even in the developed countries. On top of that, it has a dreadful impact on your society, the non-literate part of the population will never be able to perform complex intellectual work, which now makes up the majority of the labor market, so a lot of workforces will be lost.

In conclusion, the increasing illiteracy rates in developed countries, driven by factors like underfunded education systems, poverty and gadgets distractions, create substantial economic, social, and educational challenges, affecting productivity, social mobility, and overall well-being.