Immigration has a major impact on the society. What are the main problemscaused by immigration? What solutions should be implemented to tackle them?

One of the major adverse impacts that immigration has is its weakening effect on national economies. In other words, rapid increases in population put strain on public services, such as health care and education. This is because a host country takes the responsibility of providing immigrants with shelter, health care services and education, which requires allocating funds from the national budget, often to the detriment of other important spheres. More importantly, in the event that it is a country whose economy is already struggling, the flow of immigrants will exacerbate the situation and can lead to rising unemployment rates and social unrest in the country. Another significant problem that is frequently caused by a mass influx of immigrants is linked with an upsurge in crime rates in a country. This is because ease of movement may facilitate organized crime and human trafficking. Cultural clashes can also be a contributing factor to the arousal of conflicts between locals and newcomers, which might potentially lead to increased criminal offences.

However, there are a number of viable proactive solutions that could prove effective in avoiding the negative impacts of immigration. First and foremost, recipient countries should accept only literate individuals who can potentially find work and contribute to the prosperity of the country. Admittedly, such an approach might seem unethical and discriminating to choose ‘the cream of crop’, but it is unfair to allow anyone to immigrate and support them financially to the detriment of the local population. Thorough selection of immigrants, on the other hand, would ease economic strain caused by newcomers. Secondly, concerned parties should require immigrants to submit criminal history records to ensure that they accept only those who have never breached the law and committed any serious crime. Although this method fails to guarantee that immigrants will not break the law, it will be helpful in classifying and, thereby accepting respectable individuals who will unlikely offend in a new country. As a result, such methods might be beneficial in precluding crime rates from soaring.

In conclusion, even though immigration carries serious adverse implications related to the economies of host countries, it is imperative authorities permit only those with higher education and clear criminal records to enter the countryfor the avoidance of undue economic strain and increased crime rates.