In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The residents of different nations believe that it is mandatory to spend huge amount of money on building railway infrastructure for high speed train that connect different cities. In contrast, certain individuals think that funds should be allocated for improving the conditions of public transport. I will further create concrete evidence for both these views.

On one hand, investing in fast trains leads towards the modernization of society because it has multiple benefits. Firstly, it reduces the carbon footprint because it operates on electricity as compared to the conventional coal based locomotives. Secondly, it reduces the time required to travel from one place to another place. For instance, Japan has the most number of fast locomotives which enable its residents to travel faster between cities. The greater the railway lines for such trains, the more it will contribute to reduce the pollution of the country.

On the other hand, investment in buses and metro stations creates a strong network of transport for daily travelers. Consequently, it will reduce the number of vehicles running on the road as well as the cost of fare is very much convenient for the persons using it for their commute. For example, I daily use the bus as a commute to office due to the low fares. Therefore, by improving the condition of public transport it will create a good image of it among the public.

In conclusion, my perspective is that government should pay attention towards existing mass transit so people should prefer it over other means of transport. Bullet trains contributes towards greener environment and safes the amount of time to commute whereas the mass transportation reduces the traffic on roads and it is a cheaper means of transport. The common objective of both is that they create convenience for the humans.