In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some countries, there is a debate of two different opinions regarding the use of large amounts of money for building new railway lines between cities which will make it faster too and the other says that the money should be used to improve the current public transport. Personally, it will be a better option to improve the public transportation in the city especially due to the frequent use of the facilities either by the citizens living there or tourists.

There are some groups of people who believe that the country needs to conduct a new innovation in creating new railway lines between cities. This would need a huge amount of money as the technology needed to build fast trains is quite complicated. However, by constructing new railways could help people to cut the time short in terms of traveling between cities. The impact would also be the significant reduction of pollution in the country. For instance, people will choose using trains over driving a car which obviously produces larger emissions.

On the other hand, some agree that it is better to allocate the country money in developing the current public transportation first. The facilities given are frequently used by the citizens or tourists, therefore it should be upgraded periodically. Public transportation should have good amenities so that people will choose using those as their number one transportation. Moreover, this could also help reduce traffic jams, especially in working hours. The improvement could be by the facilities inside the transportation itself or even by adding more schedules so that fewer people could miss the train.

In conclusion, it will be a better decision to upgrade the existing public transportation first so people will feel more comfortable on their trips and could directly feel the improvements since it will not take that much time compared to building new railways.