In many areas of work, robots are being given more roles. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, as a result of advancements of technology, robots are more accessible to man kind in comparison to any other era, thus they are occupying more jobs. I personally believe that this could be a positive change, however, the importance of setting boundaries to this phenomenon should not be forgotten.

Nowadays, in the job environment, robots are being used more and more in roles that are known to be physically demanding for human beings. Furthermore, this decrease in the use of physical power in humans, have enabled them to allocate more time to mental activities, in order to move the borders of technology. In addition, occupations that used to be dangerous for people are now getting done by robots. Owing to this, in the past decade, the risk of injury in work forces has sharply decreased. Thus, using machines, people are able to focus on more challenging tasks, while being more secure.

On the other hand, machines are becoming more advanced day by day, which if not handled correctly, can influence human’s cognitive functions, leading to a lack of ability of thinking. Moreover, it is predicted that people will get more dependent on machines in comparison to before, and as a result, robots might take away humans’ independence. In the worst-case scenario, this could lead to a threat to human’s existence. Consider ChatGPT for instance, which has been providing people with instant information, taking away their ability of critical thinking. Hence, if not controlled properly, machines will turn into mankind’s external mind, taking away his independence.

All in all, robots have become an inseparable part of modern human’s life. While it is crucial to take advantage of what they have to offer, it is also important to limit their influence on humans’ lives.