In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to the cities, so the population in countryside are decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative elopment?

Nowadays, the number of people who move to cities from rural area, pursuing job opportunities and better facilities is increasing. I would argue that although urban areas can offer many advantages to people, generally urbanisation has undesirable outcomes, as it can lead to environmental issues and poverty.

Increasing population means more demands for housing and jobs. When more people are seeking jobs, finding a job becomes cometetive while fewer job opportunities would be available. Additionally, many might fail finding any jobs while some employees might become unemployed due to the competitive market. If this trend continues, people who cannot find a job would not be able to pay rent and even buy food, which ultimately leads to poverty. Similarly, the demand for housing would dramatically increase, resuling in the rise of rents and house prices. Consequently, people who failed to find a job would also face the high prices of rents, so they would not be able to pay for accommodation as well. As a result, the rate of poverty would significantly increase and more people would become homeless.

Another negative outcome of urbanisation is the problems that could occure for environment. More people living in cities means more vehicles, as more people need to commute around the city. Increasing in the number of vehicles leads to traffic congestion, which would cause additional problems, such as noise pollution. Besides, the more vehicle we have, the more fuel we need, which results in using more unrenewable power. Traffic congestion also lead to air pollution, which also contributes with global warming. Therefore, urbanisation can also negatively impact environment by causing air pollution and the over-usage of fuel.

In conclusion, although urbanisation would provide people with more job opportunities, I believe it is a negaive development, since it can cause poverty and homelessness due to a shortage of houses and more unemployed people, and also affects negatively on environment.