In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to the cities, so the population in countryside are decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative elopment?

The migration of people from the countryside to cities is an increasing phenomenon in many countries across the globe, that leads to a decreasing population in rural areas. Even though to some extent it is inevitable, in my opinion it is a negative development.

While most of the reasons why rural people decide to move to bigger cities are sensible, this has consequences for the population already living in the cities. With the increased influx of people to the cities many changes arise. Firstly, the growing population of cities causes a surge in housing prices. This causes many citizens that have lived in the city to not be able to afford rent anymore. Secondly, this trend causes a burden on the already strained healthcare system. This is because the already limited number of doctors can not accommodate that many people, and it leaves many to wait for months just for a check up.

Another negative aspect of this development is the detrimental changes that happen in the rural areas that are affected. Many schools begin to close and factories shut down as a result of the lack of residents. The ones that suffer most from this are the people remaining to live there. Children have to travel to neighbouring places, just to be able to attend school. Unemployment starts to rise as a consequence of the changing business enviroment.

In conclusion, I think that this phenomenon of moving to cities is a negative development due to the many consequences it brings to both populations living in cities and in the countryside.