In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, overweight and malnutrition are becoming serious problems among children around the world. Some individuals believe that governments are responsible for solving this issue; however, the responsibility does not fall entirely on them, and parents are also involved.

Certainly, the main causes of obesity and overweight in children are constant consumption of unhealthy food, and having a sedentary lifestyle. This affects both physical and mental health, and increases the possibility of suffering chronic diseases in the future, like diabetes and high blood pressure. In order to reduce this problem, governments can implement some strategies. Firstly, it is important to avoid misinformation through communication media by reducing fast food ads during times when children’s programs are broadcast. Secondly, it is essential to involve schools as a part of the solution by teaching subjects like nutrition or sports, and designing well-balanced menus at cafeterias. Lastly, governments can fund some educational campaigns, offering free or low-cost nutritional evaluations, and activities where infants can learn about relevant topics (healthy habits, nutritional content in food, benefits of practicing sports).

On the other hand, there is the parents’role in this issue. Most people say education starts at home, so parents should act as the principal role model to their children. In order to adopt healthy habits, infants must grow up surrounded by people who put them into practice; children usually learn by watching and imitating. Moreover, parents can also encourage kids to practice sports or play some games outside, instead of playing videogames or using electronic devices too frequently. Finally, parents are responsible for their kids’food choices, so it is vital that they prepare nutritional meals at home, pick healthier choices when eating out, and avoid give children candy or sugary snacks as a reward.

To conclude, it is true that governments should implement some measures to reduce overweight and malnutrition in children, but parents must take part in this situation too. While governments are able to moderate content on media, sponsor educational campaigns, and reform schools’curriculum, parents should give the example by putting into practice healthy habits in front of their children. By participating both, kids will receive a complete education in this topic, at school and at home.