In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children in numerous nations are adopting increasingly sedentary lifestyles, contributing to weight-related problems and declining well-being. While this concerning phenomenon is largely influenced by individuals’ routines and habits, I would agree that government intervention is equally essential in safeguarding public health since individuals ‘effort alone are insufficient to address this widespread issue.

On the one hand, the growing prevalence of weight problems among children, particularly in densely populated cities, can be largely attributed to a lack of physical activity. In densely populated centers, limited communal space, associated with the rise of online leisure activities such as computer games have inadvertently encouraged individuals to lead a passive lifestyle and rely heavily on the use of screen-based activities rather than physical exercise and outdoor interaction. Furthermore, rapid urban expansion means that people may widen their access to fast-food restaurants combined with advanced development of advertisement on televisions, leaving many children becoming overweight and unhealthy in the long run. When these restaurants accompanied with TV programs to bring about a lot of affordable deals and use edited images to polish their products, children would see these with visually appealing senses to negatively motivate them to excessively eat a large amount of junk foods. As a result, this practice, if managed unproperly, will intensify the problem of childhood obesity as being overweight and unhealthy increases the risk of developing chronic diseases as well as mental health disorders.

These interconnected problems are closely linked to overpopulation and urban planning challenges, which require coordinated, large-scale approach instead of merely depending on individuals ‘efforts. First and foremost, the government should keep a tight rein on the circulation of fast-food advertisements that mainly targeted to children by restricting these advertisements to late-night television and imposing age restrictions on the purchase of unhealthy products. As a result, children would be less likely to be exposed to these advertisements on televisions and having difficulties in consuming fast-food products without parental allowance, leading them to decrease the intake of processed and sugary items. Moreover, government should invest heavily more in public recreational spaces such as parks and playgrounds and divert funds away from ineffective programs to ensure that public campaigns aimed at physically attract individuals. Not only do these activities help young citizens have greener space to be more socially interactive but also make chances for children to be immersed in natural world, alleviating their stress effectively and creating a sense of belonging with natures. Finally, excessive gaming time should be curbed by both parents and schools to reduce the risk of obesity and mental health issues when using computer games for a long time.

In conclusion, although childhood obesity is partly shaped by personal lifestyle choices, I still firmly believe that governments must pay a leading role in tackling this problem. Through effective urban planning, cutting down on the use of computer games and unhealthy products, stricter regulation on junk foods-related advertisements, governments can create an environment that supports healthier choices and enables children to achieve long-term physical well-being