In many countries, coffee chains are expanding rapidly, which some claim threatens the survival of small local cafes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the burgeoning issue of dramatic increase in multiple coffee outlet has sparked considerable debate. Some people contend that expansion of coffee chain threatens local café. I strongly agree that the growing number of chain industry will become the diminishing of family-oriented businesses as chain businesses can offer standard service and have consistently advertise their business.

Firstly, giant businesses like Starbucks, MacDonald, and SevenEleven have fixed standard on taste of coffee. Despite the fact many small local businesses try to sell same taste of coffee, they have not succeeded in it because of their underqualified manpower and limited purchasing capacities. For instance, a recent survey by coffee trade union in the UK revealed that the number of consumer satisfaction were decreased in a recent year because of failing to provide new skills of coffee such as Macha, Latte, and Long black. This example suggests that local café owner could not adopt the changing culture in coffee industry which leads to consumer dissatisfaction.

Secondly, hugely impacted by advertising, chain businesses have great success to attract their customers, making them believe that their product and customer service is the best in the world. This is because fancy and decorative design of advertisements offer public to believe that the use of service from that outlet make them belong to high-class people. For example, a data collected in 2023, revealed that around 70% of Starbucks regular consumer admit that they prefer to buy coffee, just to show their class to the society. As a result, an advertisement plays a pivotal role to influence people.

In conclusion, although local café tries to become updated, chain coffee outlet dominated by frequent advertisement and standard of service, which makes small café vulnerable and stifle their creativity. Thus, I agree that smaller businesses are verse of elimination due to the product quality and high budgeting.